The  Future Foretold

Thauban, may Allah be pleased with him, he said that the Messenger of Allah, صلى الله عليه وسلم, said:

إِنَّ اللَّهَ زَوَى لِي الْأَرْضَ فَرَأَيْتُ مَشَارِقَهَا وَمَغَارِبَهَا وَإِنَّ أُمَّتِي سَيَبْلُغُ مُلْكُهَا مَا زُوِيَ لِي مِنْهَا وَأُعْطِيتُ الْكَنْزَيْنِ الْأَحْمَرَ وَالْأَبْيَضَ وَإِنِّي سَأَلْتُ رَبِّي لِأُمَّتِي أَنْ لَا يُهْلِكَهَا بِسَنَةٍ عَامَّةٍ وَأَنْ لَا يُسَلِّطَ عَلَيْهِمْ عَدُوًّا مِنْ سِوَى أَنْفُسِهِمْ فَيَسْتَبِيحَ بَيْضَتَهُمْ وَإِنَّ رَبِّي قَالَ يَا مُحَمَّدُ إِنِّي إِذَا قَضَيْتُ قَضَاءً فَإِنَّهُ لَا يُرَدُّ وَإِنِّي أَعْطَيْتُكَ لِأُمَّتِكَ أَنْ لَا أُهْلِكَهُمْ بِسَنَةٍ عَامَّةٍ وَأَنْ لَا أُسَلِّطَ عَلَيْهِمْ عَدُوًّا مِنْ سِوَى أَنْفُسِهِمْ يَسْتَبِيحُ بَيْضَتَهُمْ وَلَوْ اجْتَمَعَ عَلَيْهِمْ مَنْ بِأَقْطَارِهَا أَوْ قَالَ مَنْ بَيْنَ أَقْطَارِهَا حَتَّى يَكُونَ بَعْضُهُمْ يُهْلِكُ بَعْضًا وَيَسْبِي بَعْضُهُمْ بَعْضًا

وَإِنَّمَا أَخَافُ عَلَى أُمَّتِي الْأَئِمَّةَ الْمُضِلِّينَ وَإِذَا وُضِعَ السَّيْفُ فِي أُمَّتِي لَمْ يُرْفَعْ عَنْهَا إِلَى يَوْمِ الْقِيَامَةِ وَلَا تَقُومُ السَّاعَةُ حَتَّى تَلْحَقَ قَبَائِلُ مِنْ أُمَّتِي بِالْمُشْرِكِينَ وَحَتَّى تَعْبُدَ قَبَائِلُ مِنْ أُمَّتِي الْأَوْثَانَ وَإِنَّهُ سَيَكُونُ فِي أُمَّتِي كَذَّابُونَ ثَلَاثُونَ كُلُّهُمْ يَزْعُمُ أَنَّهُ نَبِيٌّ وَأَنَا خَاتَمُ النَّبِيِّينَ لَا نَبِيَّ بَعْدِي وَلَا تَزَالُ طَائِفَةٌ مِنْ أُمَّتِي عَلَى الْحَقِّ قَالَ ابْنُ عِيسَى ظَاهِرِينَ

ثُمَّ اتَّفَقَا لَا يَضُرُّهُمْ مَنْ خَالَفَهُمْ حَتَّى يَأْتِيَ أَمْرُ اللَّهِ

Verily Allah has shown me the east and the west of the earth and the domination (or kingdom) of my nation will reach what I saw of it, and I have been given the red and white treasures. 

I asked my Lord that my nation not be devastated by general affliction (like famine) or 

by the external enemy other than themselves which will overtake what is most precious, 

and my Lord said, ‘O Muhammad If I give a decree it cannot be repelled, and I have decreed that your nation will not be devastated by general affliction 

or by the external enemy other than themselves which will overtake what is most precious even if they come from all corners of the earth, 

then some of them will destroy the others and take captives.’ 

I am most fearful of misguided leaders and if the sword is drawn once in my nation then it will never return to the sheath until the Day of Resurrection. 

The Hour (of the Day of Resurrection) will not come until some of my nation go over to the polytheists and some tribes of my nation worship the idols, and there will be thirty great liars in my nation each one claiming to be a prophet whereas I am the final and last of the prophets and there is no prophet after me. 

There will not cease to be a group of my nation on the truth and those that oppose them will not harm them until the decisive command of Allah comes with finality.”


[Reported by Abu Da`ud, Ahmad and Ibn Habbaan and others, and verified as authentic by Arana`ut and al-Albani in Sahih al-Jame’ as-Sagheer #1773.]

Leave a Reply

