I can do more than that!… 

عن عبدالله بن عمرو قال: أُخبِر رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم أني أقول: والله لأصومن النهار، ولأقومن الليل ما عشت، فقلت له: قد قلته بأبي أنت وأمي،

قال: ((فإنك لا تستطيع ذلك، فصم وأفطر، وقم ونَمْ، وصُمْ من الشهر ثلاثة أيام؛ فإن الحسنة بعشر أمثالها، وذلك مثل صيام الدهر))،

قلت: إني أطيق أفضل من ذلك، 

قال: ((فصم يومًا، وأفطر يومين))، 

قلت: إني أطيق أفضل من ذلك، 

قال: ((فصم يومًا، وأفطر يومًا، فذلك صيام داود عليه السلام، وهو أفضل الصيام))، 

فقلت: إني أطيق أفضل من ذلك، فقال النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم: ((لا أفضل من ذلك))؛

(متفق عليه).

`Abdullah ibn `Amr (may Allah be pleased with him) narrated that the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وسلم) was informed that I say: “By Allah, I will fast all the days and pray all the nights as long as I live. On that, Allah’s Messenger (صلى الله عليه وسلم) asked me. “Are you the one who says: ‘I will fast all the days and pray all the nights as long as I live?’ “

I said: “Yes, I have said it.” 

He صلى الله عليه وسلم said: You cannot do that. So fast (sometimes) and do not fast (sometimes). Pray and sleep. Fast for three days a month, for the reward of a good deed is multiplied by ten time, and so the fasting of three days a month equals the fasting of a year.” 

I said: “O Allah’s Messenger! I can do (fast) more than this.” 

He صلى الله عليه وسلم said: “Fast on every day, break your fast a day”. 

I said: I can do (fast) more than that, 

He صلى الله عليه وسلم said: “Fast on alternate days and this was the fasting of David which is the most moderate sort of fasting.” 

I said: “O Allah’s Messenger! I can do (fast) more than that.” 

He صلى الله عليه وسلم said: “There is nothing better than that.” [Reported by Al Bukhari and Muslim].

Leave a Reply

